2015 Plant Shows and Events

WNC Orchid Society Annual Show
Saturday, March 28 and Sunday, March 29
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Hundreds of orchids fill the Education Center in this annual judged show that also features regional orchid plant and supply vendors of international acclaim. Educational classes will be offered throughout the weekend and Orchid Society members will be available to answer questions and provide orchid-growing advice.

56th Annual Rhododendron & Azalea Flower Show, presented by the American Rhododendron Society, SE Chapter 
Saturday, May 2 - Noon to 5 p.m.
Sunday, May 3 - 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This yearly judged event features hundreds of blooms. The North Carolina Arboretum is home to the National Native Azalea Collection, and visitors are encouraged to explore the collection, located along Bent Creek. 

Dahlia Tuber Sale and Mum Cutting Sale
Carolinas Dahlia Society and North Carolina Chrysanthemum Society
Saturday, May 9 - 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (or while supplies last)
A wide variety of dahlia tubers and chrysanthemum rooted cuttings featuring cultivated varieties are available. Learning from Dahlia and Mum Society experts, visitors can uncover the secrets of how to produce plants with show quality blooms.

Asheville-Blue Ridge Rose Society Exhibition
Saturday, May 30 and Sunday, May 31
9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The annual exhibition features award-winning roses of every color and size. Experts will be on hand to answer questions and provide information about the selection, care, and history of roses. Educational programs will be offered throughout the weekend.

WNC Daylily Society Annual Flower Show
Saturday, June 27
1 to 4 p.m.

Carolinas Dahlia Society Annual Dahlia Show
Saturday, September 12 - 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, September 13 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

WNC Orchid Society Annual Auction
Sunday, September 20

1 to 3:30 p.m.

Carolina Craft Day
Saturday, September 26
10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The North Carolina Arboretum celebrates traditional and contemporary Appalachian art and craft during Carolina Craft Day. The event will feature craft demonstrations, live music and juried art and craft artists working in fiber, paper, clay, metal and wood selling their work.  

 Carolina Bonsai Expo
Saturday, October 10 - 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, October 11 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Carolina Bonsai Expo features the juried work of bonsai enthusiasts from bonsai clubs in a six-state region of the United States. Every year the Expo includes free educational programming, workshops, a bonsai marketplace featuring plants, pots, tools and books for sale, ikebana displays and a live auction of bonsai and bonsai-related items. 

North Carolina Chrysanthemum Society Annual Show
Saturday, October 17 and
Sunday, October 18
The popular annual judged show showcases hundreds of chrysanthemum blooms in vibrant and varied colors. The exhibits will be judged by Accredited National Chrysanthemum judges and strict NCS standards and highlights the exceptional variety in size, shape and color of these popular fall flowers.

 

Special room rates for friends of the Arboretum are made possible by our Community Partner