The North Carolina Arboretum Board of Directors*

Chair:  Mr. Mike Tanner

Vice Chair:  Ms. Mary Ann Rice

Secretary:  (vacant)

  • Ms. Sally Boyd
  • Dr. Jack Britt
  • Mr. Larry Harris
  • Dr. Undi Hoffler
  • Ms. Cheryl McMurry Kaynard
  • Dr. Alison Morrison-Shetlar
  • Mr. Harold T. Owen
  • Dr. Mark Schmidt
  • Mr. Douglas Schuster
  • Mr. William Sederburg
  • Mr. Thomas Southard
  • Ms. Karen Tessier
  • Mr. Lee Thomason
  • Ms. Sadie Walters

Ex Officio:

  • Mr. George Briggs, Executive Director
  • Mr. Guy Clerici, The North Carolina Arboretum Society Board President

Honorary Life Board Members: 

  • Mr. Leslie (Bud) Baker, Jr.
  • Mr. William Sword

Board of Directors Meetings 2019

  • July 18, 2019
  • October 17, 2019
  • April 23, 2020
  • July 23, 2020
  • October 22, 2020

All meetings are held in the Education Center Library at 10:30 a.m.

(*Effective July 1, 2019)

The North Carolina Arboretum Society Board of Directors

Ex officio: George Briggs, President

Ex officio:  Clara Curtis, Senior Director for Mission Delivery

Ex officio:  Drake Fowler, Chief Business Officer / Chief Operations Officer

Ex officio:  Mike Tanner, Chair, The North Carolina Arboretum Board of Directors

Chair:  Guy Clerici

Vice Chair:  Tom Southard

Treasurer:   Scott Peterson

Secretary: Linda Martinson

  • Rick Daley
  • Faith Doyle
  • Richard Hall
  • Nancy Humphries
  • Allan Little
  • Brenda Mills
  • Lynn Raker
  • Diane Whitehead
  • Anna Wong