After clicking on a class title, members will need to create an account or sign in by clicking the links on the blue bar at the top of the page. Member discounts will then be applied on the next page - the cart/ticket order page.

Adult Education Classes

Click on the class titles below to register.

Natural History

November  2018 through March 2019 Courses

All About Blackbirds – Wednesday, November 7, 2018; 9:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Winter Birding in the Carolinas – Wednesday, December 5, 2018; 9:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Fire in the Sky: The Mystery and Lure of Comets – Wednesday, December 12, 2018; 10 a.m. to Noon

Duck Day – Thursday, January 10, 2019, 2018; 9:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Winter Tree Identification A – Saturday, January 12, 2019; 1 to 4:30 p.m.

Cougars and Coyotes in the Blue Ridge – Wednesday, January 23, 2019; 1 to 4 p.m.

Understanding Lichens – Saturday, January 26, 2019; 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Treasures of the Winter Night Sky – Wednesday, February 6, 2019; 10 a.m. to Noon

Winter Tree Identification B – Wednesday, February 20, 2019; 1 to 4 p.m.

Meteorology of the Blue Ridge B: A FIVE-WEEK CLASS – Thursdays, February 28, March 7, 14, 21, 28, 2019; 9:30 a.m. to Noon

New Courses for March 2019!

Geology of the Blue Ridge: A FIVE-WEEK CLASS AND FIELD TRIP – Tuesdays, March 5, 12, 19, April 2; 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.; Field Trip – Tuesday, March 26; 9:00 a.m. to 4 p.m.

John Muir’s Conservation Legacy: The Necessity of Wildness: A FOUR-WEEK CLASS – Tuesdays, March 5, 12, 19, 26; 5 to 6:30 p.m.

Vertebrate Zoology of the Blue Ridge: A SIX-WEEK CLASS – Wednesdays, March 6, 13, 20, April 3, 10, 17; 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Spring Migration of Birds – Friday, March 15; 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Scats, Tracks and Other Signs – Friday, March 29; 9:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Interested in "Growing Your Mind" in other programs, including horticulture & conservation, fine art & craft, or health & wellness? Find out what other classes The North Carolina Arboretum has to offer.